Contacts

Derek Apel
School of Mining and Petroleum Engineering
Dept. of Civil / Environmental Engineering
University of Alberta
3-045 Markin/CNRL Natural Resources Engineering Facility
Edmonton, Alberta T6G 2G7
Tel: 780-492-3379
Fax: 780-492-5747
E-mail: Derek.Apel@ualberta.ca
Ken Barron
Professor Emertus
School of Mining and Petroleum Engineering
Dept. of Civil / Environmental Engineering
University of Alberta
220 Civil / Environmental Building
Edmonton, Alberta T6G 2G7
Tel: 780-492-2867
Fax: 780-492-0249
E-mail: ken.barron@ualberta.ca
Gary Bonnell
Natural Resources Canada
CANMET, MMSL, Sudbury Lab
1079 Kelly Lake Road
Sudbury, Ontario P3E 5P5
Tel: 705-670-6766
Fax: 705-670-6556
E-mail: Gary.Bonnell@Canada.ca
Richard Booth
Deputy Chief Inspector, Health and Safety
B.C. Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources
Mining and Minerals Division
P.O. Box 9320 Stn Prov Govt
Victoria, BC V8W 9N3
Parcels: 1810 Blanshard St.
Victoria, BC V8W 1X3
Tel: 250-952-0464
Fax: 250-952-0491
E-mail: richard.booth@gov.bc.ca
Jackie Bridge
Vice President
IMT Institute of Mining Technology BC
1450-1199 West Hastings Street
Vancouver, BC V6E 3T5
Tel: 604-697-0688 / 604-697-0118
Mobile: 604-771-9961
Fax: 604-697-0113
E-mail: jackie.han@dehua.ca
Walter Buckley
Underground Mine Manager
Grande Cache Coal Company
P.O. Box 8000
Grande Cache, Alberta T0E 0Y0
Tel: 780-827-1162
Fax: 780-827-4637
Cell: 780-827-8727
E-mail: WBuckley@gccoal.com
Stephen Butt
Ph.D., P. Eng.
Oil and Gas Engineering Group
Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science
Memorial University of Newfoundland
St. John's, NL A1B 3X5
Tel: 709-737-8955
Fax: 709-737-4042
E-mail: sbutt@engr.mun.ca
Peter Cain
Ph.D., P. Eng.
Head of Mining Engineering
DMT Geosciences Ltd.
415, 708 11 Avenue SW
Calgary, Alberta T2R 0E4
Tel: 403-264-9496
Tel Direct: 403-781-2151
Fax: 403-263-7641
Cell: 403-380-9712
E-mail: Peter.Cain@dmt-group.com
Gary Corbett
Natural Resources Canada
CANMET, MMSL
Building # 10, Bells Corners Complex
c/o 555 Booth Street
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G1
Tel: 613-996-9065
Fax: 613-995-3456
E-mail: gcorbett@nrcan.gc.ca
Michael Cullen
EBA Engineering Consultants Ltd.
RR#2 Site 298 C12
Courtenay, BC V9N 5M9
Tel: 250-334-1511
Fax: 250-334-9232
E-mail: mcullen@eba.ca
Paul Elkins
Mining West, Enforcement & Surveillance - Mining
Alberta Energy Regulator
Suite 201, 5002 55 Street
Red Deer, Alberta T4N 7A4
Tel: 403-755-8449
Fax: 403-340-5136
Cell: 403-877-9884
E-mail: Paul.Elkins@aer.ca
Gary Ellerbrok
Glencore
Vancouver, BC
Tel: 604-453-4432
Cell: 604-314-0621
Steve Farrell
Donkin Resources Ltd.
65 Marine Dr. RR#1
North Sydney, NS B2A 3L7
Tel: 902-564-6768
Fax: 902-564-0775
E-mail: badger@fox.nstn.ca
Steve Forgeron
former Cape Breton Development Corp.
P.O Box 2500
Sydney, NS B1P 6K9
Tel: 902-564-4595
E-mail: svforgeron@ns.sympatico.ca
David Forrester
DJFCL - DJ Forrester Consultancy Limited
1892 Highway 28
South Bar
Sydney, Nova Scotia B1N 3H5
Tel: 902-539-5709 (home)
Cell: 902-565-8563
E-mail: david.forrester@aecom.com
Jorge Freitas
Director of Technical Services
Quinsam Coal Corp.
P.O. Box 5000
Campbell River, BC V9W 5C5
Tel: 250-286-3224
Fax: 250-286-9727
E-mail: jorgefreitas@quinsam.com
Bobby Gillis
Canadian Auto Workers Union
formerly with Cape Breton Development Corp.
1151 George Street
Sydney, NS B1P 1N5
Tel: 902-562-8575
E-mail: spikeminer@hotmail.com
Leo Gracie
Canadian Union of Public Employees
1 Lynk Street
Glace Bay, NS B1A 2H5
Tel: 902-564-7622
Fax: 902-849-2137
E-mail: lgracie@ns.sympatico.ca
Robert Hall
Dept. of Mining and Mineral Process Engineering
University of British Columbia
#517-6350 Stores Road
Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z4
Tel: 604-822-0066
Fax: 604-822-5599
E-mail: robhall@mining.ubc.ca
Don Hindy
former Mines Health and Safety
Program Coordinator
Alberta Human Resources and Employment
Workplace Health, Safety and Strategic Services
902, 10808-99th Ave
Edmonton, Alberta T5K 0G5
Tel: 780-415-0585
Fax: 780-427-5698
Cell: 780-913-5247
E-mail: dhindy@telus.net
Eric Hinton
P.Eng.
Boge & Boge (1980) Ltd
268 Ellen Street
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3A 1A7
Tel: 204-942-7276
Fax: 204-942-7288
Cell: 204-381-6043
E-mail: erich@boge-boge.com
Al Hoffman
Manager, Occupational Health
B.C. Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources
Mining and Minerals Division
P.O. Box 9320 Stn Prov Govt
Victoria, BC V8W 9N3
Parcels: 1810 Blanshard Street
Victoria, BC V8W 1X3
Tel: 250-952-0494
Fax: 250-952-0491
E-mail: al.hoffman@gov.bc.ca
Ally Huang
HR Manager
Canadian Dehua International Mines Group Inc.
Unit 820 - 1130 West Pender St
Vancouver, British Columbia V6E aA4
Tel: 604-697-0118 ext 103
Fax: 604-697-0113
E-mail: dh2004hrcr@dehua.ca
Fazal Hussain
Safety Engineering Specialist
Alberta Employment and Immigration
Workplace Health and Safety Policy and Legislation
8th fl Labour Building
10808-99 Avenue
Edmonton, Alberta T5K 0G5
Tel: 780-415-0585
Fax: 780-422-0014
E-mail: fazal.hussain@gov.ab.ca
Norm Johnson
General Manager
HD MIning International Ltd.
Murray River Mine




E-mail: norman.johnson@hdminingintl.com
Don Jones
Faculty of Engineering
Mineral Resource Engineering
Dalhousie University
1360 Barrington Street
Halifax NS B3J 1Z1
Tel: 902-494-6108
Fax: 902-425-1037
E-mail: don.jones@dal.ca
Tim Joseph
School of Mining and Petroleum Engineering
Dept. of Civil / Environmental Engineering
University of Alberta
220 Civil / Environmental Building
Edmonton, Alberta T6G 2G7
Tel: 780-492-3810
Fax: 780-492-0249
E-mail: tjoseph@ualberta.ca
Masud Khan
P.Eng., M.Eng, Mechanical Engineer
OHS Mining Unit - Jobs, Skills, Training and Labour
Occupational Health and Safety
Government of Alberta
10th Floor South Tower, 7th Street Plaza
10030-107 Street NW
Edmonton, Alberta T5J 3E4
Tel: 780-638-4338
Fax: 780-427-0999
E-mail: Masud.Khan@gov.ab.ca
Ron King
Electrical Engineer - P.Eng.
R F King & Associates
Tel: 250-652-8045
Fax: 250-652-8046
Mobile: 250-896-6511
E-mail: rfkinginc@shaw.ca
Cyril J LeBlanc
Mining Engineer, P.Eng
Nova Scotia Dept. of Labour & Advanced Education
Occupational Health & Safety Division
360 Prince Street
Suite 32
Sydney, NS B1P 5L1
Tel: 902-574-5640
E-mail: leblancv@gov.ns.ca
Vincent Li
P.Eng. P. Geo.
Vice President and Chief Engineer
Canadian Dehua International Mines Group
1450 - 1199 West Hastings Street
Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 3T5
Tel: 604-697-0118 ext 107
Mobile: 604-928-1811
E-mail: vincent.li@dehua.ca
Wei Victor Liu
Ph.D. Assistant Professor
School of Mining and Petroleum Engineering
Dept. of Civil / Environmental Engineering
University of Alberta
3-052 Markin/CNRL Natural Resources Engineering Facility
Edmonton, Alberta T6G 2W2
Tel: 780-248-5649
E-mail: Victor.Liu@ualberta.ca
George Lobay
Zone 1 Technical Services Inc.
308-404 Laurier Ave. East
Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6R2
Tel: 613-454-5992
E-mail: George@zone-1.ca
Fred Ma
IMT Institute of Mining Technology BC
Cdn Dehua International Mines Group Inc.
1450-1199 West Hastings Street
Vancouver, BC V6E 3T5
Tel: 604-697-0688
Fax: 604-697-0113
E-mail: mxmsn@hotmail.com
Clayton MacAskill
Safety Program Coordinator
Grande Cache Coal Company
P.O. Box 8000
Grande Cache, Alberta T0E 0Y0
Tel: 780-827-1015
Fax: 780-827-4637
E-mail: cmacaskill@gccoal.com
Garry MacDonald
Sr. Inspector of Mines / Mechanical
B.C. Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources
Mining and Minerals Division
2nd Floor, 441 Columbia Street
Kamloops, BC V2C 2T3
Tel: 250-423-7381
Cell: 250-423-3194
E-mail: Garry.MacDonald@gov.bc.ca
Serge Major (retired)
Director Finance & Administration
Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM)
Suite 855
3400 de Maisonneuve Blvd. W.
Montreal, Quebec H3Z 3B8
Tel: 514-939-8855
Fax: 514-939-2714
E-mail: smajor@cim.org
Chris Mark
Pittsburg Research Lab
NIOSH
P.O Box 18070
Pittsburgh, PA 15236
Tel: 412-386-6522
Fax: 412-386-6891
E-mail: cnm7@cdc.gov
Charles B. Napier
President
Devrial Resources Inc.
PO Box 1702
Grande Cache, Alberta T0E 0Y0
Tel: 780-827-5044
Fax: 780-827-5044
Cell: 780-827-6642
E-mail: cbn.devrial@gmail.com
Muneer Naseer
Director of Mines
Alberta Employment and Immigration
Workplace Health and Safety Policy and Legislation
8th fl Labour Building
10808-99 Avenue
Edmonton, Alberta T5K 0G5
Tel: 780-422-4711
Fax: 780-422-0014
Cell: 780-913-5247
E-mail: muneer.naseer@gov.ab.ca
Rimas Pakalnis
Dept of Mining and Mineral Process Engineering
University of British Columbia
#517-6350 Stores Road
Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z4
Tel: 604-671-6114
Fax: 604-822-5599
E-mail: rcp@mining.ubc.ca
Dan Payne
Geotechnical Engineer
BHP Coal Pty
Crinum Mine
Emerald, Queensland
Australia 4720
Tel: 7 4982 8100
Fax: 7 4982 8198
E-mail: payne.dan.da@bhp.com.au
Udo Renk
P.Eng. (Alberta, British Columbia)
Renk Mining Consulting
9429 124 Avenue
Grande Prairie, Alberta T8V 5Y6
Tel: 780-402-9691
Cell: 780-518-9186
E-mail: udor2008@gmail.com
Wayne Rogers
HRSDC - Labour Program
P.O Box 850
Commerce Tower
15 Dorchester St.
Sydney, NS B1P 1J4
Tel: 902-564-7218
Fax: 902-564-7131
E-mail: wayne.rogers@hrsdc-rhdsc.gc.ca
Stewart S. Sampson
Director of Central Services
Dept. of Environment and Labour
P.O Box 697
5151 Terminal Road
Halifax, NS B3J 2T8
Tel: 902-424-8055
Fax: 902-424-3239
E-mail: sampsons@gov.ns.ca
Benoit Sawyer
Controller
Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM)
1250 - 3500 de Maisonneuve Blvd. W.
Westmount (Montreal), Quebec H3Z 3C1
Tel: 514-939-2710 ext 1314
Fax: 514-939-2714
E-mail: bsawyer@cim.org
Joe Shea
Cape Breton Development Corp.
Engineering Dept.
P.O Box 2500
Sydney, NS B1P 6K9
Tel: 902-736-7404
Fax: 902-736-7480
E-mail: joes@istar.ca
Ed Taje
District Inspector
B.C. Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources
Mining and Minerals Division
P.O. Box 9320 Stn Prov Govt
Victoria, BC V8W 9N3
Parcels: 1810 Blanshard St.
Victoria, BC V8W 1X3
Tel: 250-952-0732
Fax: 250-952-0491
E-mail: eddy.taje@gov.bc.ca
Dwayne Tannant
School of Mining and Petroleum Engineering
Dept. of Civil / Environmental Engineering
University of Alberta
220 Civil / Environmental Building
Edmonton, Alberta T6G 2G7
Tel: 780-492-3379
Fax: 780-492-0249
E-mail: ddtannant@civil.ualberta.ca
Rolly Thorpe
Deputy Chief Inspector of Mines, Health and Safety
B.C. Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources
Mining and Minerals Division
P.O. Box 9320 Stn Prov Govt
Victoria, BC V8W 9N3
Parcels: 1810 Blanshard St.
Victoria, BC V8W 1X3
Tel: 250-952-0471
Cell: 250-360-7594
E-mail: Rolly.Thorpe@gov.bc.ca
Shad Todd

Kameron Coal Management Ltd
750 Long Beach Rd
P.O. Box 3766
Donkin, Nova Scotia B1A 6P8
Tel: 902-554-3025 ext 304
Cell: 902-217-0287
E-mail: shad.todd@kameroncoal.com
Janusz Waltar

Grande Cache Coal Company
P.O. Box 8000
Grande Cache, Alberta T0E 0Y0
Tel: 780-827-1029
Fax: 780-827-4637
E-mail: jwaltar@gccoal.com
Wayne Webster
Grande Cache Coal Company
P.O. Box 8000
Grande Cache, Alberta T0E 0Y0
Tel: 780-827-1042
Fax: 780-827-4637
E-mail: wwebster@gccoal.com
Pleman Woodland
Mining Engineer
Nova Scotia Dept. of Environment and Labour
P.O Box 697
5151 Terminal Road
Halifax, NS B3J 2T8
Tel: 902-424-0451
Fax: 902-424-3239
Cell: 902-497-2919
E-mail: woodlapg@gov.ns.ca
Dick Wright
Manager, Underground Mining
Norwest Corporation
2700, 411 - 1st Street S.E.
Calgary, Alberta T2G 4Y5
Tel: 403-237-7763
Direct: 403-232-4107
Fax: 403-263-4086
Cell: 403-819-3467
E-mail: rwright@norwestcorp.com
Michael Xiao
Project Manager
HD Mining International Ltd.
Suite 433, Three Bentall Centre
595 Burrard St, Vancouver, BC V7X 1J1
Tel: 604-689-8669
Fax: 604-689-0969
E-mail: michael.xiao@hdminingintl.com
David Young
Natural Resources Canada
MMS/MTB/MMSL
Nepean, Ontario
c/o 555 Booth Street
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G1
Tel: 613-943-9265
Fax: 613-996-2597
E-mail: davyoung@nrcan.gc.ca
Steve Zou
Associate Professor
Dept. Mining and Met. Engineering
Dalhousie University
1360 Barrington Street
Halifax NS B3J 2X4
Tel: 902-494-3977
Fax: 902-425-1037
E-mail: steve.zou@dal.ca