McParland Memorial Award

McParland Memorial Award

The Donald J. McParland Memorial Medal is awarded for outstanding performance in civil engineering design, general plant design, project engineering, and/or management of mine plants, and may also recognize innovations in mine plant installations or in operating and maintenance methods, as well as major improvements in equipment used in the mining or equipment manufacturing industry.

This Year's Winner - 2011

George Delorme George Delorme
Montreal, QC

“In recognition of his outstanding contributions to the mining industry in the field of wire rope safety, education and performance as well as his dedicated service to CIM.”

George Delorme graduated from EOIT (Algonquin College) in 1968 with a degree in mechanical engineering technology.

Following graduation, George joined Wire Rope Industries, working primarily with mining rope applications, becoming their technical services manager. He remained at Wire Rope for 28 years. In 1996, he joined Haggie Steel Wire ropes of South Africa as president of Haggie North America Inc., a position he still holds.

Over the years, George has visited mines in 22 countries and has assisted with the rope installation of many new hoisting plants. Since 1999, he has had 11 technical papers published in thirteen annual technical bulletins relating to rope issues.

George is a life member and a Fellow of CIM, has been chosen as a CIM Distinguished Lecturer, and has served Chairman of the Maintenance/Engineering Division.