CIM Distinguished Service Medal

CIM Distinguished Service Medal - Description

This gold medal was inaugurated in 1957 as an award for distinguished or meritorious service to the Institute and the mineral industry of a nature not necessarily technical or scientific.

This Year's Winner - 2011

Tim Grain Joseph Tim Grain Joseph
St. Albert, AB

“For his dynamic leadership and outstanding contributions to the sustainability of the Canadian mining industry and CIM, particularly his unflagging enthusiasm to mining education.”

With degrees in chemistry and mining engineering from the Universities of Kent (U.K.) and Alberta, Tim Joseph is currently director of the Alberta Equipment-Ground Interactions Syndicate (AEGIS) at the University of Alberta where he focuses on adverse mining equipment performance, particularly in oil sand operations. He actively consults through JPi Geo-Industry Engineering Consultants, supporting the mining industry and its OEMs.

Tim's career highlights include development of the JPi double-curved oil sand dipper, real time tkph analysis, and his latest, the "loadperfect" truck-shovel communication system. His truck, tire and shovel performance evaluation techniques are the backbone of a series of industry short courses delivered worldwide to hundreds of mining professionals.

In more than 20 years as a CIM member, Tim has held numerous volunteer roles within the societies, branches, Council, and as the technical and general chair of several national and regional CIM conferences. Currently, he is the Edmonton Branch vice-chair, the District 5 vice-president and co-general chair of Edmonton 2012.

Tim has received numerous awards and citations, including the SMART Distinguished Service Award, University of Alberta Teaching Awards, APEGGA Gold Medal, CIM Fellowship, and the CIM Past Presidents’ Medal.