A.O. Dufresne Award

A.O. Dufresne Award - Description

The A.O. Dufresne Award was established in honour of Dr. A.O. Dufresne, Past President of CIM. It recognizes exceptional achievements or distinguished contributions to mining exploration in Canada.

This Year's Winner - 2011

David J. Copeland David J. Copeland
Westbank, BC

“For his outstanding contributions in the discovery and advancement of the Mt. Milligan and Kemess deposits and other world-class deposits.”

David Copeland is a mining executive whose career spans over 30 years in advanced exploration, permitting, stakeholder engagement, project development and mine operations, encompassing projects in British Columbia, Yukon, United States, South Africa, the South Pacific and China.

David graduated with a degree in geology from the University of British Columbia in 1970, and acquired his professional engineer’s designation in 1980.

His specialty is advancing projects from late exploration stage through permitting, engineering and being ready for construction. He is a team builder, team leader, team supporter, and a challenger of geologic and engineering ideas.

David’s important contributions include: the discovery and advancement of Mt. Milligan, the Kemess deposit, the re-start of Gibraltar, the advancement of the first new gold development in 25 years in Witwatersrand, the Burnstone, leading the exploration advancement and development in the Tibet Autonomous region of China - a true cross-culture success of Chinese and Canadians working together - and most recently, the porphyry copper-gold Xietongmen project.